We need to talk about Asia

The decision to go travelling was a pretty spontaneous one. I received the dreaded “we need to talk” message that automatically panics everyone but when Liv bounded in after a tedious 9 hour shift and said “I think we should just do it, let’s go, let’s travel South East Asia this summer”, panic was the last thing on my mind. I was already planning dates and figuring out what I needed to buy.

Planning started immediately. I spoke to my boss, figured out when university exam results were released and booked an appointment with a travel advisor. We went from nothing to flights booked in a few short days.

Map of places we've been

Map of places we’ve been

There was a lot to consider (travel insurance, vaccinations, visas) but with dates set, the thought of burying my head in Land law for the next few months didn’t seem so depressing. There was a light at the end of the tunnel, or, in my case, the library corridor.

Trying to have any sort of social life whilst juggling a degree and a part time job (so that I can fund a diet of more than just 17p baked beans) is a bit of a challenge but, as cliche as it is, you only live once. Liv is always saying we’ll be working for the next 50, 60 years we should take advantage of the freedom we have right now. So that’s what we are going to do.

Katrina

Leave a Reply

